When people were drowning in the Mediterranean we knew we had to act. So we went out to sea and saved 14,000 lives. But we were forced to stop when Italian authorities seized our ship, the Iuventa. Now we are being investigated for “aiding illegal immigration“. We risk 20 years in prison.

This trial is not just about us. All across Europe volunteers are being prosecuted for showing solidarity with people in need. Today it can be a crime to provide shelter, to give out a cup of tea, save somebody’s live in Europe. We stand by our actions. We will not give up until Europe stands up for human rights.

Are you with us?

Our forensic study aimed at assessing the allegations of the Italian authorities. The results are clear: There is no evidence of collusion between the Iuventa’s crew and smugglers.

Lorenzo Pezzani, Researcher - Goldsmiths University London

Undercover agents have reported to the Italian police that our crews collaborated with Libyan smugglers. There is no evidence and no official accusation to date. We have acted in accordance with international law and our missions were coordinated by the responsible authority, the Maritime Rescue Coordination Center in Rome.

Although we have to stand trial, it is us who accuses Europe. We accuse European politicians of turning their backs on people in need. We accuse the EU of collaborating with regimes who violate human rights. Our mission is solidarity. Join us, become part of our support crew!

Meet Laura, our rescue boat team leader. Over the course of four missions, she distributed more than 5,000 life jackets to people in distress. The fact that she can’t go out to sea during this ongoing lawsuit, is what frustrates her the most. “The situation in the Mediterranean is not a natural catastrophe. It is a political disaster that people are drowning there.”

Join the crew!

Become part of our support crew by signing up for regular updates and action calls.

Iuventa10 – Solidarity at Sea is not a Crime

We are not simply fighting a case in court. We are on a mission to fight for solidarity in Europe. And to do so, we need your help! Join our cause, let us take action and raise our voices!

As a captain, I am obliged by law to help anyone in distress at sea. However, solidarity with people in need is everybody's duty. You can help as well, even a small donation is a great sign.

Pia, Captain - Part of the Iuventa10

More about the Iuventa10?

Watch the counter-investigation on our case published by researchers of Forensic Architecture, London.

Watch now!

Press & Contact

For press inquiries and interview requests with the crew, please send an email to: press@solidarity-at-sea.org

Als wir sahen, wie Menschen auf der Flucht im Mittelmeer ertranken, wussten wir, dass wir etwas unternehmen müssen. Also fuhren wir raus aufs Meer. 14.000 Leben konnten wir retten – bis die italienische Polizei unser Schiff Iuventa beschlagnahmte. Jetzt wird wegen „Beihilfe zur illegalen Einwanderung“ gegen uns ermittelt. Uns drohen 20 Jahre Haft.

Aber es geht nicht nur um uns: in ganz Europa stehen freiwillige Helfer*innen für ihre Solidarität vor Gericht. Wir haben das einzig Richtige getan. Und solange Europa keine Lösung findet, werden wir weiterkämpfen.

Bist du dabei?

Wir haben die Vorwürfe der Staatsanwaltschaft mit allen verfügbaren Daten abgeglichen und kamen zum Schluss: Es gibt keine Beweise für eine Zusammenarbeit der Iuventa mit Schleppern.

Lorenzo Pezzani, Forensiker - Goldsmiths University London

Verdeckte Ermittler sollen beobachtet haben, dass die Iuventa mit Schleppern aus Libyen kooperiert. Dafür gibt es keine Beweise, das sagen auch Wissenschaftler von Forensic Architecture. Wir haben uns an internationales Recht gehalten, unsere Einsätze waren von der zuständigen Rettungsleitstelle in Rom koordiniert. Während wir auf der Anklagebank sitzen, erheben wir unsere eigene Anklage:

Die europäische Migrationspolitik hat erst dazu geführt, dass so viele Menschen ertrinken, weil es keine sicheren Fluchtwege gibt. Noch immer finanziert die EU Machthaber, die Menschenrechte mit Füßen treten. Wir stehen für ein solidarisches Europa. Komm mit an Bord, werde Teil unserer Support-Crew!

Das ist Laura. Auf vier Iuventa Missionen hat sie das Rettungsteam geleitet und dabei über 5.000 Rettungswesten ausgeteilt. Solange die Ermittlungen laufen, darf sie nicht mehr helfen. Das ist für sie schlimmer als der Gerichtsprozess: "Die Tragödie an Europas Grenzen ist keine Naturkatastrophe. Es ist politisches Versagen, dass dort Menschen sterben."

Join the crew!

Trag Dich in unsere Liste ein und werde Teil unserer Support Crew!

So bleibst du jederzeit auf dem Laufenden und kannst uns dabei helfen, ein Zeichen für Solidarität und Menschlichkeit zu setzen.

Iuventa10 – Solidarity at Sea is not a Crime

Wir können diesen Kampf nicht allein im Gerichtssaal gewinnen: Nur durch ein solidarisches Europa wird sich langfristig etwas verändern. Dafür brauchen wir Dich. Lass uns gemeinsam laut werden und etwas gegen diese Missstände unternehmen.

Als Kapitän wird es mir vorgeschrieben, Menschen in Seenot zu helfen. Solidarität mit Menschen in Not ist aber unser aller Pflicht. Jeder kann etwas tun, und wenn es eine kleine Spende ist.

Pia, Kapitänin – Teil der Iuventa10

Weitere Infos zu den Iuventa 10

Wissenschaftler der Goldsmiths University London haben die Vorfälle analysiert, die zur Beschlagnahmung der Iuventa führten. In diesem Video erklären die Forensiker, warum die Behauptungen der italienischen Behörden falsch sind.

Mehr erfahren…

Presse & Kontakt

Gerne vereinbaren wir Interviewtermine mit der Crew: press@solidarity-at-sea.org